top of page

the flywheel cycle

Updated: Oct 28, 2018

the adaptation to the original idea



after doing my research about esd's, i began thinking where we could use them. certain ideas came to my head. thougth about the pros and cons. but there was this one idea which really stuck with me. putting a flywheel in abike to power it. I myself ride my bike alot, i ride to my classes, i ride it around and overall enjoy riding my bike. I used to watch youtube videos and see youtubers ride there e-bikes around and be like, "man, would i love to have one those". but with those kinda pricetags and that much charging, not a charge. and then i got this idea. what if we use muscular power to power our flywheel, so that whenever we need it, like going uphill we can use the power, without all the hatle of the lithium batteries and motors


while going throught the design phase i cmae with multiple ideas, and variations. one of the main questions was where to place the flywheel. since momentum is directly proportional to the square of the radius of the flywheel(I=kmrr), a flywheel of largest radius would be ideal. i considered the option of placing it within the frame, but quickly realied that the tire was the best option. i decided to keep mass to minimum since a higher mass would naturally slow the bike. a high angular velocity(omega) was also important since kinetic energy is directly proportional to the square of angular velocity. a high angular velocity can be achieved with a gear mechanism. i decided to go with a planetry gear system, so the the number of spokes in each gear in contact with the other are increased so the damage to the gears decreases. planetry gears also occupies less width of the bike, so it is easier to work with.


another major question was how much energy can we store?how much can humans provide?

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page